Rain, Late Night

The rain is coming down outside and it’s comforting in its own way. When I don’t have to battle traffic or go out in it really, it’s kind of nice.

I love the night, I love the quiet on the street, the steady patter of the rain, the stillness of the house. I just wrote a post on my other blog that is much more ranty than I’m normally comfortable with but it’s been brewing inside my head for so long that I couldn’t fix it up. Sometimes I think it’s okay to be blunt and lately I must think it, because I’ve done so.

Today was trying in many ways. I’m not sure where my patience went, it feels worn so thin. And sometimes I hate the internet and the fact that misunderstanding happens so easily and that people can lash out at you and then run into hiding. Face to face this can’t happen. Face to face you have to battle and deal with your demons or stay quiet in the first place. It’s probably my own fault, I’m getting so confrontational in my old age, passive aggressive behavior ignites my irritation so quickly.

So even though I feel so tired, I’m still awake because the stillness of the night and the patter of the rain is like a stolen moment of peace. And tomorrow there might be backlash from the aforementioned post. Tomorrow I have to slog through resume writing and trying to finish the unemployment application, and sitting in the wondering of what in the world it is I’m doing. And going to sleep, means waking up that much faster. So for now, I’ll just sit here a little longer.